Organising art

I am a Virgo, so naturally a bit of an organiser, list-maker and neat freak. When it came to organising where to put the numerous photos and prints we have accumilated over the years in the new house, it was a task I was happy to take on. The idea for a wall of prints is one I found on Pinterest recently and having seen it done in numerous house case studies in the homes and interiors titles, I was eager to give it a go myself. I really like the sort of dysfunctional organised spirit of the whole thing and think the overall look is very effective, and one that you can look at with interest many, many times (as opposed to looking at the same single image over and over again).

Screen Shot 2013-10-08 at 13.51.39

I found plenty of inspiration for my picture hanging project on Pinterest

I found plenty of inspiration for my picture hanging project on Pinterest

For a timeless and modern feel, we went for only black and white frames. While I am not against the use of colour in the home, I think the monochrome scheme works well for the wall of artwork and you can get some really nice chunky, ornate, textured and simplistic frames to give a sense of variety.

To start, I gathered all of the framed prints we wanted to put up in the hallway and organised them on the floor. It was easy to see which picture worked well alongside others this way and meant that I could play around with the layout before hanging them on the wall. Once I decided on the best selection and location for each, I took a picture for reference. This is my top tip for this project as once you start hanging them it is good to look back at the photo you took to remember the layout you liked.

My top tip is to lay out the frames on the floor before you start and take a picture of the layout to reference when hanging them

My top tip is to lay out the frames on the floor before you start and take a picture of the layout to reference when hanging

Conscious of not putting too many holes in our rented property’s walls, I used these nifty adhesive strips from Command which act like Velcro to secure your frames to the wall. All you do is bind the strips together, stick to the frame and them attach the other sticky side to the wall (note: it is handy to have someone else around when doing this to ensure you stick them on straight!).

These Command strips are a great idea to prevent putting holes in the wall

These Command strips are a great idea to prevent putting holes in the wall

There's plenty of room to add more prints when we collect them...

There’s plenty of room to add more prints when we collect them…

By arranging the different shaped frames in varying heights, we added interest and individuality

By arranging the different shaped frames in varying heights, we added interest and individuality

I even included this little fella... I think it is good to add some one-off pieces that hold sentimental value

I even included this little fella… I think it is good to add some one-off pieces that hold sentimental value

Once all of the frames were up, the display covered around half the length of the hallway, leaving plenty of room so that we can build our collection and keep adding to it when we find other prints that we like. I even included a little penguin sketch that the Mr did for me a few years ago as a joke, but I love penguins and it holds some strange sentimental value (although he thought I was being weird by putting it up!).

I love the new look of the hallway now, and as soon as the first picture went up, it instantly made the house feel more homely. I can’t wait to add more as time goes on, it’s like our own little piece of artwork, filled with our favourite things, and looks lovely and neat.

What do you make of the art display? Do you struggle to find space for all your pictures? I’d love to see new ideas for displaying your favourite pieces.

Like this post? Tell me what you think...

