New sofas: We finally found our bargain

You may remember the little story I told about missing out on a great bargain sofa at a local furniture clearance event, but never fear, every cloud does indeed have a silver lining. In my case, this lining came in the form of a successful bid on eBay for two nearly-new grey John Lewis two-seater sofas which came in at £200 for the pair. Given that these little babies usually retail at around the £600-£700 mark, I am well and truly thrilled with them.

My love/hate relationship with eBay ended with a great bargain buy

My love/hate relationship with eBay ended with a great bargain buy

I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with said eBay, as just before I bagged my lovely settees, I lost out to another grey two-seater from Sofa Sofa at the very last second. I was so bitterly disappointed with the loss of another sofa, that I literally spent hours trawling through search pages to find a better option and found the John Lewis pair and my happy ending.

This all happened about a week before the big move and we organised the pick up (only about 30 minutes away from the new house – bonus) for moving day so we had somewhere to sit after a hard day of lifting, unpacking and assembling. The Mr would have been quite happy without a sofa or two for the first couple of weeks, but, for me, they were a necessity!

We got two of these John Lewis two-seaters for £200 on eBay

We got two of these John Lewis two-seaters for £200 on eBay

I love the colour and the beech feet...more on the cushions later

I love the colour and the beech feet…more on the cushions later

What do you think of my bargain sofas? I’d love to hear about your eBay finds!

Like this post? Tell me what you think...

