One shall have her cake

Happy Jubilee weekend!

In true Diamond Jubilee spirit, I have put my DIY baking/decorating skills to the test. While some may have their bunting hanging, my kitchen has been brightened up by this gem. A classic victoria sponge inside, my Union Jack cake is enough to get me in a celebratory mood.

To make the topping, I bought a block of ready-to-roll icing (around £2) and a red and blue food colouring (two for £3). First I kneaded the icing until soft and then added a drop of the desired colour and kneaded until evenly spread – very messy! Once you have your colours, you are ready to roll (get it?). Why not see what you can create?

Classic victoria sponge with jam in the middle.

Like this post? Tell me what you think...

