One for the recipe book – Banana and cinnamon muffins

My lovely banana and cinnamon muffins.

My fondness of afternoon baking has taken a turn for the more obsessed after finding myself with a bit more time on my hands. This time, I made one of my favourites and a recipe that makes use of leftover, or going-off foods in the kitchen. Tasty cakes using abandoned ingredients – win win. My banana and cinnamon muffins are really tasty and are great as a snack or for breakfast and I believe (well I tell myself) that they are a more healthy variety of cake because of their fruit content. Right? The bananas are best when they are pretty black and no one wants to eat them any more. So instead of putting them in the bin, have a go at recycling them.

If you fancy having a go at making some fruity muffins, here’s the recipe I use. You can also make a banana loaf using the same recipe if you don’t want a load of cupcakes. Either way, this recipe is a winner.

Ingredients:

3 or 4 over-ripe bananas, mashed
1/3 cup of melted butter
1 cup of sugar
1 egg, beaten
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon
pinch of salt
1 and 1/2 cups of self-raising flour

What to do:

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175 degrees C.
2. Mix the mashed bananas with the butter.
3. Gradually mix in the sugar, egg, vanilla, salt and cinnamon.
4. Gradually sift in the flour and stir gently until thoroughly mixed.
5. Bake for around 20 minutes or until golden brown. (Test they are done by sticking a knife into the centre of the cake and if it comes out clean they are cooked, if there is mix on the knife give them a few more minutes.)
6. Leave to cool.
7. Enjoy!

p.s. If you are making a banana loaf using this recipe, leave it in the oven for around one hour.

Like this post? Tell me what you think...

