Revisited: Home-made and hand-picked goodness

Last summer (back in the days when the sun actually shone) I went out with the mother for a nice walk and came back with a bag full of blackberries. Nearly a year later and the last of my homemade jam has finally been eaten. I thought I would re-share this piece as a fun, crafty way to spend an afternoon – and its free.

There’s nothing more tasty than home-made jam – or so I found out this weekend.

Just like something out of an Enid Blyton novel, I spent Saturday afternoon walking my dog and picking blackberries fresh from mother nature’s late summer harvest and turned the berries into a tasty batch of jam on Sunday. Now the process was all new to me so luckily I had a seasoned berry picker to hand in the form of my mother.

The berries had to be left in an air-tight container overnight to tease out the bugs hidden in them and then thoroughly cleaned. After the berries were satisfactorily bug-free, the jam making process could commence. Here is the recipe if you want to give it a go.

1kg blackberries (or your fruit of choice)
1kg granulated sugar
pinch of salt
2 tbsp lemon juice

1. Find 2-3 jars to decant the finished jam into. Sterilise them by filling them with boiling water for 5-10 minutes and then transferring the empty jars to a hot oven for a further 10 minutes.

2. Place the blackberries, sugar, salt and lemon juice into a large pan and heat through, stirring frequently.

3. Bring the mix slowly to a rolling boil and let simmer for 15-20 minutes. Continue stirring.

4. When the mix has reduced down, decant it into the hot jars and seal with lid.

5. Place the jars into a bath of cold water (not immersed) for 10 minutes.

6. Leave mix to set for 8+ hours.

The taste test proved that my first attempt at making jam was a success and with three jars of the stuff, there’s plenty to enjoy. Why don’t you see for yourself what fruity jellies you can create?

Enjoy! I’m off to whip some cream to top off my home-made strawberry pavlova…

Like this post? Tell me what you think...

